The Society meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month between September and May and endeavours to provide the medium through which fellow collectors can meet and enhance their knowledge and enjoyment of stamp collecting and its related fields. We foster a friendly and informal atmosphere, with the minimum necessary formality, in which both novice and philatelist alike can co-exist and thrive.

The programme of events covers most branches of philately without too much emphasis on any one sphere.

Opportunities are provided to display and talk about your collection (or parts of it) at several different levels and members are encouraged to take an active part in the society through this medium.

Members will almost certainly gain a considerably deeper knowledge of collecting in all its many aspects, and frequently gain useful information relating to their own field from the most unlikely sources.

The increasing trend towards specialization nowadays does often mean that not too many members collect the same territories. This does tend to restrict the opportunities to buy and sell amongst ourselves, but nonetheless this is encouraged where possible.

The running of the Society is administered by a committee consisting of a Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Hon. Secretary, Hon. Treasurer, Programme Secretary and up to three other members. The range of posts within the society ensures that no one person bears too great a burden of the administration and at the same time helps to ensure the active participation of the membership in its smooth running.

The Banbury society runs an annual competition for the Robson cup, named after the late David Robson, where each competitor has the opportunity to briefly display and talk about their entry. Entries shall comprise 3 to 6 sheets on any subject (Stamps, Postal History, Thematic). This is an informal event judged by the members present on the night.

Past Winners: Janet Walker 2011; Gwen Killpack 2012 & 2014; David Hood 2013 & 2017; Gareth Williams 2015; Peter Fernbank 2016; Michael Fernbank 2018; Ian Grace 2019; John Davies 2020; Jonathan Durley 2022 & 2023, Mathew Schaer 2024.

Most recently we have been the host Society for the Banbury Festival of Stamps which is a major stamp event held in the town supported by the Midland Philatelic Federation.